Joke’s On Me

Standard

So…site (to remain anonymous, but suffice to say it is a reputable and nationally read news publication), tells me I must register to comment on an article. Fill out the registration form, it says I’m already registered. I try to log in but cannot remember password, so click and fill out password retrieval protocols, site emails me a link, click link, redirects back to site and reset password, successfully log in. Now site tells me in order to comment on article I must confirm email address. In order to do this I’m asked to fill in a form which will generate a link sent to my email which I must click and will redirect me back to the site. Didn’t I just do that? Whatever. Click and fill out email confirmation protocols, site emails me a link, click link, redirects back to site AGAIN aaand email address confirmed! Go back to original article only to discover…all comments gone. Only a heading stating “Comments”, poised over a blank white space that used to house a comment box and many comments. Refresh…still no comments. Grr.
Open different browser, return to site and see comments! Hooray! But wait, site tells me I must log in to post comments. Crap! Log in to site and…all comments gone again.
Is this some kind of non-hilarious programmer’s joke? I did see people had commented so apparently there is some form of magic at work here of which I’m unfamiliar. Secret e-handshake? Incantation? Sacrifice an e-chicken to the internet gods?
Needless to say, my comment was not added to the mindless rabble which had so infuriated me in the first place, sparking my need to add my nickel’s worth of free information to the mix. I suppose, in the grand scheme of things, it’s probably for the best. I really should just stick to utilizing my own blog as a means for disseminating whatever idiotic crap I feel like sharing with the interwebs.
I hope you enjoyed today’s installment of Typhany’s Rants and Ravings. And now a word from our sponsors…

Leave a Reply

